Youth Camp

My body creaks in pain from a rusty bed
I wake to the sound of an earthquake
Boot of stone to my feet I crawl in line
Frail I stand and quiver in the morning cold
Choruses of voice in resonance is all I hear
Eyes blood shot and heavy with sleep
I fall to the dust to begin a new day
Thunderous commands yelled which deafen me
I’m kicked to carry on in pain I muster up
Tears roll down my cheeks yet I can’t cry
I scream inside, it tears me down
In torn muscles and aching groins I hit the ground
All I see are flashes of light
My joint stiff,my heart skips,I feel death within
My day is done and I wail in hunger
I’m filled and fall like a log never to rise
The die is cast,the deed is done
With inmates I sit and gaze at the starry heavens
In words of comfort,counsel bubble forth
Tales of moon light gives hope to the weak
who knows my anguish!!!
who hears my cry!!!
I LIVE BUT TO SERVE???
Contributed- J.U Nnadozie

4 comments

  1. Had I read this prior to my OWN experience in the youth camp,my expectations would be enveloped more in fears than in adventure.Nonetheless,for the masterful poetic write-up,you have my thumbs-up.

    Like

You need to say something!

